ADELAIDE UNIVERSITY THEATRE GUILD

" DAYBREAK "

AT THE HUT Thursday, August 5 Friday, August 6 1943

"DAYBREAK" and ITS AUTHOR

Catherine Shepherd was born in Southern Rhodesia in 1901. She received the main part of her education in Wales and England, graduating at University College, London. She has lived in Australia for many years and has become well known as the author of a considerable number of plays written both for radio and the stage. "Daybreak," which was the winning play in the Victorian National Theatres play competition, was first produced in Hobart in July, 1938, by the Hobart Repertory Society. The quality of "Daybreak" has been recognised by the Commonwealth Government, which (through the Literary Fund) has sponsored its publication in book form. Other plays by Catherine Shepherd are "Sea Piece," "Lethe Wharf," "I Saw the New Moon," and "The Flying Swan."

The University Theatre Guild is glad to have this opportunity to produce an Australian play of merit, and looks forward to offering others in the future.

ACTION OF THE PLAY

The action of the play takes place in the parlour of Simon Martel's house in Hobart Town. The time is 1830.

> Act I. Scene 1—Morning of a spring day. Scene 2—Evening a few days later.

Act. II Scene 1—Late afternoon, some weeks later. Scene 2—Night, a fortnight later.

Act III. Christmas Eye.

There will be a brief interval after Scene 1 of Act I; the main interval coming at the end of Act I.

Production under the direction of Arthur Davies

CAST:

Simon Martel	-		-	EDGAR WISE
. Caroline Martel	-	-	-	ROXY BYRNE
Jeanne Martel	-	-	-	ROMA WILLIAMS
Francis Gillen	-	-	-	HAL PORTER
Mrs. Carmichael	-	-	-	ELISABETH CAMPBELL
Phoebe Moon	-	:=)	-	CECIL TEESDALE SMITH
Rufus Bellamy	-	-	-	SYDNEY DOWNIE
Captain North	-	0	-	DAVID BARNES
Captain Blainey	-		-	DOUGLAS PARNELL
Lieutenant Prideaux			-	STAUNTON MCNAMARA
Mrs. Moss -	-		-	JESS LYNE
Laura Moss	-		5	MIGNON MICHELL
Mrs. Turner	-	-		JESS DAVIS
Sarah Turner	-	-	-	JOAN MATTHEW
Lucy Turner	3 .	50	-	CLAUDIA CARTER
Ellen -	-	-	-	MARY DONNELL
Beam -		-	-	FRANK GARGARO

Stage Management - BARBARA HOWARD Setting and Decor MICHAEL JAMES -Lighting -THOMAS KEEN -Electrician and Mechanist - HERBERT KOLLOSCHE Music Arrangements --ENID PETRIE Costuming arranged by Mimi Mattin.

For considerable assistance with costumes, the Guild expresses its thanks to the Executive of the Adelaide Repertory Theatre.

UNIVERSITY THEATRE GUILD

Patrons:

Professor E. Harold Davies, Professor J. I. M. Stewart, Dr. Chas. Fenner, Mr. J. G. Cornell, Mr. Frank Johnston.

Committee:

Dr. T. D. Campbell Miss Elizabeth Carter Mr. Arthur Davies Mr. Brian Elliott Miss Patricia Hackett Miss Barbara Howard Mr. Herbert Kollosche Mr. Roy Leaney Dr. E. McLaughlin Mr. Allan Sierp Miss Cecil Teesdale Smith Mr. Bruce Williams

Mrs. R. Williams

Communications can be made and subscriptions paid to the Hon. Secretary and Hon. Treasurer, care Front Office, University.