ADELAIDE UNIVERSITY THEATRE GUILD

THE CHERRY ORCHARD

BY

ANTON CHEKHOV

AT THE HUT Monday, May 5th Tuesday, May 6th Wednesday, May 7th Thursday, May 8th 1947 "ANTON PAVLOVICH CHEKHOV (1860–1904) took his degree in medicine at the University of Moscow in 1884. His first play, *Ivanov*, was produced in 1887, but it was not until 1896 that his second play, *The Seagull*, was presented. One year later he was threatened with tuberculosis and retired to the Crimea to live.

"His connection with the Moscow Art Theatre and Stanislavski was very close, and he wrote for them *Uncle Vanya* (1899), The Three Sisters (1901), and The Cherry Orchard (1904).

"The Cherry Orchard was finished only a few months before he died, in July, 1904.

"I am always being asked which is the best play in London. This is. For the high-brow? Yes, and for butcher, baker, and candlestick-maker as well. I suggest *The Cherry Orchard* is one of the great plays of the world."

—James Agate.

The University Theatre Guild wishes to thank Mrs. Harold Tydeman and Miss Helen Caterer for the loan of costumes of the period, Mr. Christopher Symons for the selection of music and Mrs. H. P. Pascoe for the arrangement of the coiffures.

The Cherry Orchard

CAST:
LYUBOF ANDREYEVNA RANEVSKY
GWENNETH BALLANTYNE
ANYA PAT LLOYD DAVIES
BARBARA JOSEPHINE BURTON
LEONID ANDREYEVITCH GAYEF - SAM DAY
YERMOLAI ALEXEYEVITCH LOPAKHIN
JOHN WARD
PETER SERGEYEVITCH TROPHIMOF - TOM BROWN
BORIS BORISOVITCH SIMEONOF-PISHTICK
OWEN EVANS
CHARLOTTE IVANOVNA ENID BROWN
SIMEON PANTELEYEVITCH EPHIKHODOF
PAUL MORISSET
DUNYASHA JEANNETTE BURGOYNE
FIRS FRANK GARGRO
YASHA JACK MANUEL
STATIONMASTER BARRIE McEWIN
TRAMP VICTOR CASTELLO
The action takes place on Madame Ranevsky's estate, Russia, 1900.

THE PLAY UNDER THE DIRECTION OF COLIN BALLANTYNE.

COSTUMES	-	-	-	-	PAUL MORISSET
DECOR	-	-	-	-	MICHAEL JAMES
LIGHTING	-		-	-	BRUCE WALTON

UNIVERSITY THEATRE GUILD

.5%

Patrons:

Professor E. Harold Davies

Professor J. G. Cornell Mr. F. S. Johnston

Committee:

Miss E. Brown

Dr. C. E. Fenner

Miss Barbara Howard

Mr. T. Brown

Professor C. Jury

Dr. T. D. Campbell

Mr. Roy Leaney

Miss Rosemary Fitch

Dr. E. McLaughlin

Miss Patricia Hackett

Mrs. J. R. Thompson

Miss G. D. Walsh

Communications, enquiries and subscriptions may be addressed to the Hon. Secretary, Miss E. Wedd, Lister House, North Terrace (C.2315), or care of the University.

Those interested in class studies in stage work enquire from the Hon. Secretary.

MISS E. WEDD ('phone C. 2315).